Bernard Revel Graduate School of Jewish Studies

FALL 2019

FALL 2019 ACADEMIC CALENDAR
DAY/S OF THE WEEK DATE/S EVENT
Mon-Fri April 29 - Aug. 30 Online Registration for Fall 2019 Semester 
Mon-Thurs August 26 - 29 In Person Registration. A late registration fee of $25 begins September 3
Monday August 26 First Day of Classes
Monday September 2 Labor Day, No Classes
Thursday September 12 Written Comprehensive Exam for September 2019 MA Degree Candidates; Last Day to Submit Work for Fall 2018 Incomplete Grades
Monday September 16 Last day to Add or Drop a Course without special permission. Last Day to Drop a course without a “W”. Students will be subject to full tuition payment for classes dropped after this date.
Mon-Wed Sep. 30 - Oct. 23 Rosh Hashana through Sukkot Recess, No Classes
Thursday October 24 Classes Resume
Monday November 4 Last Day to File for Comprehensive Examination (in Revel office) for January 2020 Degree to be taken on December 19. Last Day to File for January 2020 Degree with the Registrar’s office
Thur-Fri November 28 - 29 Thanksgiving Recess, No Classes
Saturday November 30 Bernard Revel Memorial Day, 2 Kislev
Mon- Thurs Dec. 2 - Jan 23 Online Registration for Spring 2020 without a late fee
Friday December 13 Last Day to Drop a Course.  Students are obligated to complete the work in any course not officially dropped by this date.Applications for spring 2020 admission to the MA program and for scholarships for that program (including all supporting documents) filed by this date will receive priority in the granting of financial aid. This also applies to scholarship applications from current MA students. Late applications will be considered
Mon- Tue December 16 - 17 Association for Jewish Studies Conference. Instructors may reschedule classes
Wednesday December 18 Written Comprehensive Examination for January 2020 MA Degree Candidates
Mon-Mon December 23 - 30 Hannukah, Classes Meet
Wednesday January 1 New Year's Day, No Classes
Thursday January 2 Last Day to apply for admission to the Doctoral Program for Fall 2020, including submission of supporting materials
Tuesday January 7 Asarah be-Tevet, No Classes
Wednesday January 8 Last Day of Classes
Thursday  January 16 Harry Fischel Memorial Day, 19 Tevet
Friday January 31 Official Date of Graduation for January 2020

 

SPRING 2019 ACADEMIC CALENDAR
DAY/S OF THE WEEK DATE/S EVENT
Mon-Mon Dec. 3 - Feb. 4 Online Registration for Spring 2019 (program changes may not be made online after February 4)
Wednesday January 2 Last Day to apply for admission to the Doctoral Program for Fall 2019, including submission of supporting materials
Tue-Thurs; Monday January 29 - 31; Feb. 4 In Person Registration 10:00-1; 2-5:30, A late registration fee of $25 begins February 5
Tuesday January 29 First Day of Classes
Thursday January 31 Official Date of January 2019 Graduation
Monday February 11 Last Day to Submit Work for Spring 2018 and Summer 2018 Incomplete Grades
Thursday February 21 Last Day to Add a Class without special permission. Last Day to Drop a Course without a “W”. Students will be subject to full tuition payment for classes dropped after this date.
Tuesday March 19 Thursday Schedule
Wednesday March 20 Ta‘anit Esther, No Classes
Thursday March 21 Purim, No Classes
Friday March 29 Preferred date for applications to the Masters Program for Fall 2019 admission, including all supporting documents, by applicants and current students requesting scholarships and fellowships. Late applications will be considered, but priority in the granting of financial aid will be given to those who file by this date
Friday March 29 Last Day to File for Comprehensive Examination (in the Revel office) for May 2019 degree. Last Day to File for May 2019 Degree with the Registrar’s office
Monday April 1 Last Day to Drop a Course. Students are obligated to complete the work in any course not officially dropped by this date.
Thursday -Sunday April 18 - 28 Passover Recess, No Classes
Tuesday April 23 Rabbi Samuel Belkin and Rabbi Joseph B. Soloveitchik Memorial Day, 18 Nisan
Monday April 29 Classes Resume; Thursday Schedule
Thursday May 9 Yom ha-‘Azma’ut (Observed this year on 4 Iyyar), No Classes
Tuesday May 14 Written Comprehensive Examination for May 2019 MA Degree Candidates
Monday- Thursday May 15 - August 29 Online registration for Fall 2019 semester
Monday May 27 Memorial Day, No classes
Tuesday May 28 Last Day of Classes; Monday Schedule
Thursday May 30 Commencement Exercises
Thursday July 25 Last Day to File for Comprehensive Examination (in the Revel office) for September 2019 Degree. Last Day to File for September 2019 Degree with the Registrar’s office.

SUMMER 2019

Classes meet Monday, Tuesday, Thursday June 17 - July 18

(MTW Week of July 1)

SUMMER 2019 ACADEMIC CALENDAR
DAY/S OF THE WEEK DATE/S EVENT
Monday - Thursday April 1 - June 20 Online Registration
Monday - Thursday June 17 - 20 In person registration 10:00AM - 1:00PM & 2:00 - 5:00PM at the Revel office. ON MONDAY 10:00 AM - 1:00 PM & 4:30 -5:30 PM
Monday June 17 First day of classes
Monday June 24 Late registration. Last day to add a course.
Thursday June 27 Last day to drop a course without its appearing on record. Last day to withdraw from a course with a tuition refund. Students will be subject to full tuition payment for classes dropped after this date.
Tuesday July 2 Last day to drop a course. Students are obligated to complete the work in any course not officially dropped by this date.
Thursday July 18 Last day of classes