Bernard Revel Graduate School of Jewish Studies

SUMMER 2020

Classes meet Monday, Tuesday, Thursday June 22- July 23

(MTW Week of July 6)

SUMMER 2020 ACADEMIC CALENDAR
DAY/S OF THE WEEK DATE/S EVENT
Monday - Thursday April 20 - June 25 Online Registration
Monday  June 22 First day of classes
Monday June 29 Late registration. Last day to add a course.
Thursday July 2 Last day to drop a course without its appearing on record. Last day to withdraw from a course with a tuition refund. Students will be subject to full tuition payment for classes dropped after this date.
Tuesday July 7 Last day to drop a course. Students are obligated to complete the work in any course not officially dropped by this date.
Thursday July 23 Last day of classes

All classes will meet on Yeshiva University's Zoom platform.

 

FALL 2020

FALL 2020 ACADEMIC CALENDAR
DAY/S OF THE WEEK DATE/S EVENT
Sunday-Friday August 10- September 2 Online Registration for Fall 2020 Semester. A late registration fee of $50 begins September 3
Wednesday August 26 First Day of Classes
Monday September 7 Labor Day, No Classes
Wednesday September 9 Classes follow Monday schedule
Monday September 14 Last day to Add or Drop a Course without special permission. 
Last day to withdraw and drop a course with 100% refund
Thursday September 17 Written Comprehensive Exam for September 2020 MA Degree Candidates; Last Day to Submit Work for Fall 2019 Incomplete Grades
Last day to withdraw and drop a course with 75% refund
Monday September 21 Tzom Gedaliah. No Classes
Thursday September 24 Last day to withdraw and drop a course with 50% refund
Mon- Mon Sep. 28 - Oct. 12 Yom Kippur through Sukkot Recess, No Classes
Tuesday October 13 Classes Resume
Wednesday October 14 Classes follow a Monday schedule
Thursday October 15 Last day to withdraw and drop a course with 25% refund and without a “W” appearing on transcript.
Monday November 9 Last Day to File for Comprehensive Examination (with the Revel office) for January 2021 Degree to be taken on December 16. Last Day to File for January 2021 Degree with the Registrar’s office
Wednesday Novermber 18 Bernard Revel Memorial Day, 2 Kislev
Thur-Fri November 26 - 27 Thanksgiving Recess, No Classes
Tues- Mon Dec. 1 - Jan 25 Online Registration for Spring 2021 without a late fee
Friday December 11 Last Day to Drop a Course.  Students are obligated to complete the work in any course not officially dropped by this date. Applications for spring 2021 admission to the MA program and for scholarships for that program (including all supporting documents) filed by this date will receive priority in the granting of financial aid. This also applies to scholarship applications from current MA students. Late applications will be considered
Fri- Fri December 11 - 18 Hannukah, Classes Meet
Mon - Tues December 14-15 Association for Jewish Studies Conference. Instructors may reschedule classes
Wed December 16

Written Comprehensive Examination for January 2021 MA Degree Candidates

Tuesday December 22 Last Tuesday Class
Thursday December 24 Last Thursday Class
Wednesday December 30 Last Day of Classes
Sunday January 3 Harry Fischel Memorial Day, 19 Tevet
Monday January 4 Last Day to apply for admission to the Doctoral Program for Fall 2021, including submission of supporting materials
Friday January 29 Official Date of Graduation for January 2021

 

SPRING 2020 ACADEMIC CALENDAR

Addendum to the Spring 2020 Academic Calendar:

This academic calendar was revised on March 11, 2020 to include campus-wide course cancellations on March 4, 2020 - March 6, 2020. Instruction resumed in an online format on March 11, 2020.

DAY/S OF THE WEEK DATE/S EVENT
Mon-Thurs Dec. 2 - Jan 23 Online Registration for Spring 2020 (program changes may not be made online after January 27))
Thursday January 2 Last Day to apply for admission to the Doctoral Program for Fall 2020, including submission of supporting materials
Tue-Thurs; Monday January 21 - 23; Jan. 27 In Person Registration 10:00-1; 2-5:30, A late registration fee of $25 begins January 28
Tuesday January 21 First Day of Classes
Friday January 31 Official Date of January 2020 Graduation
Monday February 3 Last Day to Submit Work for Spring 2019 and Summer 2019 Incomplete Grades
Thursday February 13

Last Day to Add a Class without special permission. Last Day to Drop a Course without a “W”. Students will be subject to full tuition payment for classes dropped after this date.

Wed -Fri March 4 - March 6 All on campus courses cancelled
Monday March 9 Ta‘anit Esther, No Classes
Tuesday March 10 Purim, No Classes
Wed/ Thurs March 11-12 Classes resume. All courses scheduled to meet on campus will be offered either live online session at their scheduled time, or as an asynchronous module. Faculty will inform students if the class is NOT meeting at its scheduled time.
Friday March 27 Preferred date for applications to the Masters Program for Fall 2020 admission, including all supporting documents, by applicants and current students requesting scholarships and fellowships. Late applications will be considered, but priority in the granting of financial aid will be given to those who file by this date
Friday March 27 Last Day to File for Comprehensive Examination (in the Revel office) for May 2020 degree. Last Day to File for May 2020 Degree with the Registrar’s office
Wednesday April 1 Last Day to Drop a Course. Students are obligated to complete the work in any course not officially dropped by this date.
Monday -Sunday April 6 - 19 Passover Recess, No Classes
Sunday April 12 Rabbi Samuel Belkin and Rabbi Joseph B. Soloveitchik Memorial Day, 18 Nisan
Monday April 20 Classes Resume
Monday-Thursday April 27 - August 27 Online registration for Fall 2020 semester
Wednesday April 29 Yom ha-‘Azma’ut , No Classes
Wednesday May 13 Written Comprehensive Examination for May 2020 MA Degree Candidates
Thursday May 21 Last Thursday class
Tuesday May 26 Commencement Exercises
Wednesday May 27 Last day of classes
Thursday July 23 Last Day to File for Comprehensive Examination (in the Revel office) for September 2020 Degree. Last Day to File for September 2020 Degree with the Registrar’s office.