Skip to main content Skip to search

YU News

YU News

New Photos of Yeshiva's Early History now in Libraries' Digital Collections

Discover aspects of the early history of Yeshiva University through the latest set of historic photos now available in the Libraries’ Digital Collections portal. Sense the palpable excitement in scenes of the 1927 cornerstone laying ceremony of the original main uptown building and its 1928 dedication, both of which were marked with overflowing crowds. Also included in this newest group of 40+ images are shots of high school students and faculty from the 1920s, several historic views of the Wilf campus, and various Lower East Side buildings used by YU’s founding entities before their move to Washington Heights in January 1929.

Follow this link directly to the photo collection, conveniently sorted by the most recently added images.
Or explore the full Digital Collections portal for access to fascinating rare and unique materials from the Libraries’ Special Collections and Archives.

As always, feel free to send us any comments or feedback.

Posted by Deena Schwimmer, Archivist