Skip to main content Skip to search

YU News

YU News

Dr. S. Abraham Ravid Chairs Board Meeting of the MFA

Avri Ravid (left), newly elected president of the MFA, hands a plaque to outgoing President, Jon Garfinkel from the University of Iowa

On Friday, March 8, 2019, Dr. S. Abraham Ravid, professor of finance and chair of the finance department at Sy Syms School of Business, was inaugurated as the incoming president of the Midwest Finance Association (MFA). He will be president until March 2020. The MFA is a nonprofit association dedicated to the furtherance of finance education.

On Friday, Nov. 1, 2019, Dr. Ravid held a meeting of the MFA board on the YU campus as a way to promote a strong connection between the MFA and Sy Syms.

Several notable items were brought up at the meeting, most significantly the creation of doctoral tutorials. “Doctoral tutorials are held by most major associations, and I am introducing it to the MFA for the first time this year,” explained Dr. Ravid. “This is a forum that allows selected PhD students to present their work and get feedback from faculty and will be held on March 18, 2020, the day before our conference, which will run from March 19-21, 2020, in Chicago.”

The response, according to Dr. Ravid, has been “overwhelming”: 227 students have applied for four slots (which may increase to five if time permits).

Another notable accomplishment for Dr. Ravid is the chance to present his work in a presidential address at the upcoming conference. “The presidential address is also common in some major academic associations, where the president has the opportunity to present his or her research to the entire conference,” he explained. “I introduced this when I was program chair, two years ago.”

Seated (l-r): Dr. Hengjie Ai, University of Minnesota, program chair MFA 2020; Dr. Vahap Usysal, treasurer, DePaul University; Dr. S. Abraham Ravid, president, Sy Syms; Dr. Richards Rosen, VP, Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago. Standing (l-r): Dr. Wendy Pirie, CFA Institute, institutional director; Dr. Matt Pritsker, Federal Reserve Bank of Boston; Dr. Jon Garfinkel, University of Iowa, former president of the MFA (Not shown: on the phone, directors from Australia, the University of California and Dartmouth). Note that all are wearing caps with the Sy Syms logo.