Skip to main content

The Jay and Jeanie Schottenstein Honors Program

School Menu


How to Apply

The Office of Admissions Web site provides more information about the honors program, including admissions requirements and how to apply.

If you are already attending Yeshiva College and want to apply to enter the Jay and Jeanie Schottenstein Honors Program, please go to the forms section of the Honors Website for the application. You may also pick up a form from the director of the Jay and Jeanie Schottenstein Honors Program.

You must fulfill the following criteria:

  • A 3.7 GPA while at the college
  • Competent writing: the grade of A or A- in two courses in Composition or Literature
  • At least two strong recommendations from your college instructors.
  • In addition, it is advantageous to have achieved at least a 1400 on the SATs or a 32 on the ACTs.
  • Interest in completing the Jay and Jeanie Schottenstein Honors Program 
Honors Program Summer Programming

The Honors Program runs an annual summer program abroad. These subsidized programs—open to all students—earn credits for participants while exposing students to the best of world culture.

Previous Summer Enrichment Programs included Summer 2010—Spain and Summer 2005—Italy (PDF). In recent years, the Honors Blog has hosted student posts from past trips, including 2014 in St Petersburg and 2015 in Rome.

Honors Committee

The Honors Committee ensures the day-to-day success and determines the long-term direction of the Jay and Jeanie Schottenstein Honors Program.

The Committee is composed of:
Antonella Marini (Mathematics)
Shalom Carmy (Bible and Jewish Philosophy)
Chaviva Levin (Jewish History)
Ruth Bevan (Political Science)
Will Stenhouse (History)
Elizabeth Stewart (English)
Silke Aisenbrey (Sociology)
Sumanta Goswami (Biology)

Ex officio members include:
Raji Viswanathan (Associate Dean for Academic Affairs)
Pearl Berger (Dean of Libraries)
Jonathan Schwab (Admissions)
Barry Eichler (Yeshiva College Dean)
Gabriel Cwilich (Honors Program Director)
Sam Gellens (Honors Program Assistant Director)
Dani Schwab (Student, Chair of Honors Student Council)
Josh Nagel (Student, Vice Chair of Honors Student Council)