Skip to main content

Office of Energy & Sustainability

School Menu

Sustainability and Energy Task Force

The Sustainability Advisory Committee was first put together in July of 2009 made up of Students, Faculty and Staff from all four Yeshiva Campuses.  The goal of the Committee was to complete ACUPCC's final requirement, a Climate Neutrality Action Plan. As the Climate Action Plan is being finalized, the Committee will unite with the Energy Task Force to continue their efforts towards carbon neutrality.


Download the inaugural issue of the Energy Task Force newsletter, Green Energy Matters (PDF)

The sustainability of the environment and proper utilization of our natural resources is a responsibility that Yeshiva University shares with the rest of the country. In 2006, when energy prices skyrocketed causing a 30 percent increase in the cost of heating, lighting, and air-conditioning of our facilities President Joel decided that something had to be done.

President Joel asked Jack Zencheck, the University's Chief Procurement Officer, to head a committee with the following mission:

  • analyze energy use and cost for the University
  • benchmark our costs against similar educational institutions in New York City
  • develop a list of potential cost-cutting measures and ways to approach them
  • review funding options for in-depth studies
  • competitively procure energy requirements
  • comply with the American College and University Presidents Climate Commitment (ACUPCC)

The Sustainability & Energy Task Force includes University trustees, staff, faculty, and students. Much work has been done, including energy studies, procurement contracts for natural gas, oil, and electricity, and encouraging President Joel to sign the ACUPCC, which he did in November of 2007. The committee now includes in its mission sustainability, recycling, reduction in greenhouse gas emissions and education.

Chair: Jack D. Zencheck, Procurement Services

Committee Members:

Michael Winkler
Energy and Sustainability

Andrea Moore
Energy and Sustainability

Don Summers
Yeshiva University, Security and Transportation

Jonathan Mantell
Yeshiva University, University Housing & Residence Life

Rose Snyder
Undergraduate Environmental/Energy Club

Yosef Hoffman
Undergraduate Environmental/Energy Club

Joseph Cook
Yeshiva University, Administrative Services

Alan Secter
Yeshiva University, Institutional Advancement

Peter Pessoni
Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Plant Operations

Cecilia Haas
Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Facilities

Rabbi Robert S. Hirt
Vice President Emeritus of RIETS for Education and Administration

Richard Civitano
Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Operations and Maintenance

Stanley Raskas
Yeshiva University, Board of Directors

Anthony Chibbaro
Environmental Health and Safety

Christina Barrentine
Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Supporting Services